Saucy Sunday – Hamburger-Potato Bake

 My husband, The Captain, is a meat and potatoes kinda guy.

I’m happy with potatoes and bread. And I also, like an easy prep meal with little cleanup.

This recipe covers all those bases. Well, kinda. The cleanup is so-so. But it’s spread out, so your not overwhelmed with a pile of dishes all at once.

To start…

peel and slice thin, 5 medium potatoes.

slcdpotatoes

Place them in a 13×9″ baking pan.

hmbrgrptpbk1

Add 3 cups milk. Enough to cover the potatoes. (secret: I use powdered milk, it’s cheaper, and we like it just fine.) And believe me, I’m picky about milk. Powdered milk works well in most recipes I’ve tried.

hmbrgrptobake2

Then add 3 tablespoon of butter or margarine. Just drop it on top of the potatoes. It’ll melt and mix in, just fine, while baking.

Bake that, uncovered at 350 degrees F, for about 45 minutes. Or until fork tender and the top is turning a golden brown.

hmbrgrptobke41

While the potatoes are baking…

Brown, 1 1/2 pounds of ground beef and 1 small chopped onion. Add salt and pepper to taste and set aside.

When the potatoes are done…

Sprinkle on the top of the potatoes: 1 twelve oz. pkg. shredded mild cheddar cheese and on top of that add the browned ground beef/onion mixture.

hmbrgrptobke3

On top of that, add one large package of “whop biscuits”.

hmbrgrptobke5

Oh, I’m sorry….

You may not know what “whop biscuits” are.

They are biscuits of the refrigerated/canned variety.

You know…

The ones you whop on the counter to get them open.

I have found that the flaky ones work the best for this recipe.

You can bake according to the “whop biscuit” package directions. But I choose to keep the oven at 350 degrees and bake them slower. I have found, if you cook them at a higher temperature they brown faster and the bottom of the biscuit isn’t done.

And eating bread dough causes my gag reflex to fling into action. Blech!!

Anyway, now that I’ve totally grossed you out…

Bake until the “whop biscuits” are brown and the bottoms of them ARE DONE!

hmbrgrptobkedone

You probably noticed that the pan I’m using is a 9×9″. I cut the recipe in half for The Captain and I. Boo won’t touch the stuff. He curls up his nose and asks, “What am “I” having for dinner?” He’s one of those finicky eaters. Drives me insane!

Also, you can add more biscuits, than the recipe calls for, on the top if you like a lot of bread. Personally, the more bread the better. Told you, I LOVE bread.

When using a 13×9″ pan, I use 2 cans of flaky “whop biscuits”.

Enjoy! And let me know if you try them and what you thought.

TFP

 

Hamburger-Potato Bake

       5    medium potatoes, peeled and sliced thin

1 1/2     pounds ground beef

       1     small onion, chopped

       3      cups milk (enough to cover potatoes)

       3      tablespoons butter

       1      12 oz. package grated mild cheddar cheese

       1      package canned biscuits

In rectangular pan put sliced potatoes, milk and butter. Spread out. Bake in oven at 350 degrees for 45 minutes or until milk starts to brown on potatoes and potatoes are fork tender.

In skillet, brown onion and ground beef; add salt and pepper to taste.

Spread cheese over over baked potatoes, then spread browned ground beef/onion mixture over cheese. Top with biscuits and bake until biscuits are brown. Serve hot.

Serves 4-6.

P.S. Be on the lookout for a Team Fencepost Reader Participation request post coming up Monday!

10 comments on “Saucy Sunday – Hamburger-Potato Bake

  1. Did you tell Boo whatever he fixes for himself is what’s for dinner? I do understand about picky eaters, though. Carol’s (my roomie) son wouldn’t touch that either. He’d come into the kitchen, ask what is smelling so good and then curl up his lip and ask what’s my dinner, too. He doesn’t want anything with onions, cooked or not, no identifiable chunks of tomatoes and no green pepper that can be identified. He’s 35 now and his mom for Thanksgiving made him his own pan of dressing…. as she has done for years… no onion and no celery. But we are going to have to try this recipe. He’s gone back home and we can eat whatever we like without having to make a special portion for the boy. 🙂

  2. I use powdered milk too! No one in this house has ever questioned me so it must not be that much different. My daughter is also picky, but she is easily fooled! 🙂 heehee. I am secretely working on developing her pallette now! She is 14 so I am definately a little late on this!

  3. I really, really want to try that recipe and I know Ricky would love it!!….BUT….I can’t get a grip on the whop biscuits!!! Are they bread? I mean, I have seen sweet biscuit mix at the supermarket that you just slice off like a piece of sausage and cook in the oven yourself….but not a bread based one. Is it a scone mixture more than a bread mixture? I think I could probably make a plain scone mixture and dollop that on top?? It would probably work the same and be just as tasty! Fortunately I DO know what mince and powdered milk are … lol, lol……although I have to convert those pounds and ounces to kilos and grams:)

  4. I love meal in a dish concept – where you get all your nutrients and just have ONE thing to wash. Lovely. Looks like a winning recipe to me! I would just have to throw in a few peas under the meat part maybe. Or I guess a salad would work too, huh? But that would mean an extra dish 🙂

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

