Saucy Sunday – Au Gratin Potatoes

I have to admit, potatoes hold a place in my heart. I love them in almost any preparation.

The Captain is a meat and potatoes kinda guy. I could live on just potatoes.

I’ll share a recipe that is one of our favorites. I found it in a magazine somewhere.

augratinsingl

Au Gratin Potaotes

First, peel and thinly slice, 5 cups of potatoes. And 1/2 cup chopped onion. Set aside.

Next, melt 3 tablespoons butter or margarine. I do this in a large pan. You’ll see why later.

Then add 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour, 1-1/2 teaspoons salt and 1/8 teaspoon pepper. Stir until smooth.

While I’ve got it on my mind…

If your gonna take pictures at this stage, make sure you hurry or move the pan off the heat. Or else, it will burn and you’ll have to start over. Not that I would know anything about that.

I’m just saying….

Now that I’ve got that clear.

Gradually, add 2 cups milk. It’s kinda like gravy. If you add it all at once, it’s hard to get it to thicken. Bring to a boil, stirring until it thickens. About 2 minutes. Give or take a second or two.

Turn the oven on to preheat at 350F.

Remove the butter/flour/milk mixture from the heat.

This is where I differ from the recipe.

The recipe says…

add one cup of shredded cheddar cheese.

Becky says…add 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese. We like this recipe really cheesey. I use mild cheddar cheese.

Stir until the cheese is melted.

Here’s where the big pan comes in…

Add the potatoes and onions and stir until coated.

You can use a small pan to melt the butter and all that, but then you’ll need to have a bigger bowl to mix it all up in. So why not use a big pan. Only one thing to wash, eh? I’m all about convenience.

Then put the potato mixture into a greased 2 quart casserole dish and cover.

Bake covered one hour. Uncover and bake an additional 30-40 minutes. Baking time may vary. I poke the potatoes with a fork to check for tenderness.

And while we’re waiting…

I have to tell you about a little difference of opinion between The Captain and I.

The Captain calls this a potato peeler.

I call it a carrot peeler.

This is a potato peeler. (aka-knife)

I never learned to peel potatoes with a carrot peeler, I’ve always used a knife. Since meeting The Captain, I’ve tried using a carrot peeler for potatoes. It takes too long. I can peel three potatoes while he skins one with a carrot peeler. That’s why it’s a carrot peeler and NOT a potato peeler.

Oh, I’m not saying you can’t peel a potato with a carrot peeler. I know several people who do.

I’m just saying, I can’t.

I’m curious to know how many of Team Fencepost uses a carrot peeler for potatoes.

Hey, here’s another poll for ya…

Oh, and by the way, did ya notice my kitchen stove also gets a little spruced up for the holidays? I just love these. I didn’t get this post finished before Halloween, because I was so hungry by the time the potatoes were done, I forgot to take pictures of the finished product. So I had to wait to make them again.

Which prompted The Captain to threaten to dig in before I could take a picture. Just to ensure that I would make them again soon.

I know… I’m lame!

You should have seen my face when I realized we had eaten it all and there were no pictures. I can’t blame anyone but myself. I have total control of the kitchen. Nobody and I mean, nobody, better interfere with my cooking experiments. Except on Sunday, when The Captain is cooking breakfast.  Then I gleefully accept his higher ranking domination of the kitchen and await my bacon.

But only on Sunday morning.

Of course, if I decide to make biscuits and gravy, he steps down and joins the ranks and awaits his bacon!

Here’s the second batch, 2 weeks later.

Au Gratin Potatoes

bkdaugratin

If you’re a potato lover, like me, you’ll love these. I’m not really a big fan of cheese, but I like the way the cheese tastes on these potatoes, it’s deliciously creamy.

Bon Apetite!!

 

Au Gratin Potatoes

       3  Tablespoons butter or margarine

       3  Tablespoons all-purpose flour

1 1/2   teaspoon salt

   1/8   teaspoon pepper

       2   cups milk

       1   cup (8 oz.) shredded cheddar cheese

       5   cups thinly sliced peeled potatoes (about 6 medium)

    1/2   cup chopped onion

 In a large saucepan, melt butter over low heat. Stir in the flour, salt and pepper until smooth. Gradually, add milk. Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. Remover from the heat; stir in cheese until melted. Add potatoes and onion, and stir to coat well.

Transfer to a greased 2-quart baking dish. Cover and bake at 350F for 1 hour. Uncover; bake 30-40 minutes longer or until the potatoes are tender.

Yield: 6-8 servings.

 

13 comments on “Saucy Sunday – Au Gratin Potatoes

  1. Yum! Sounds great and I’m not crazy about my au gratin potato recipe, so you know I’m gonna have to try this!
    Oh and I can’t peel potatoes unless I have a carrot peeler. I usually end up peeling my thumb instead of the potato if I try to use a knife. My husband makes fun of me, but I insist that he does not want a thumbless wife, so I use the carrot peeler!

  2. I’m with you, I love potatoes, even like to eat slices of them raw. When I was a kid, we use to lay slices on top of the old kitchen cool stove and partially cook them, on each side, then while hot slap on butter and salt and have them as an evening snack. When I was pregnant with the last child, I craved mashed potatoes, have no idea why. I also like baked sweet potatoes.

  3. OOOhhh this recipe looks so good, I could eat the pictures! I had to laugh about your advice to be careful when cooking and taking pictures….

    I too love potatoes and will eat them raw or cooked. Great post and now I’m hungry, thanks!

  4. I’m going to have to try these. Seems like when the fall weather comes to call and the air starts to get crisper is when I’m more drawn to try to cook a bit. I normally just leave the cooking to Missy or my Bro, but now through February when I don’t get outside very much I will play in the kitchen a bit. I like your name for your camera, too… cracked me up.

    Helen

  5. I’m a potato lover too. Your recipe sounds easy enough that I just might try it sometime, instead of always buying the boxed kind.

    I use a knife to peel potatoes and I did take your poll.

  6. Yum I love any kind of potato. My husband is always thankful at a restaurant that I love them because I will eat my potato first and then can’t eat my steak or whatever and he gets it. So I grew up peeling potatoes daily for our large family of nine and I can peel a potato so fast your head would swim. I have to say I am with your hubby…..I call it a potato peeler not a carrot peeler as well. I don’t use a knife to peel.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

