Join Me On The Bandwagon

Today is election day.

I’m gonna share with you a little secret…….

I have never voted.

Oh, the shame! I cannot hold my head high and proud, because I have never voted.

I cannot complain about the way the government is running this country, because I have never voted.

Didn’t know how.

My Mother voted when I was a kid. But politics was not something that was discussed around me. So I never knew much about it.

I went along my merry way, pretending that the powers that be knew what they were doing.

But, at The Captain’s persistance, I have registered to vote. This will be my first official presidential vote. And will be a learning experience.

The Captain votes at every election. It took me awhile to get on the bandwagon.

On another note…

My birdhouse gourd crop turned out pretty well from only one plant.

Twelve, in all, including a little one that, for some reason, didn’t make it into this picture.

Oh, two didn’t get counted because they were hiding in the weeds and the lawn mower shredded them this weekend. Darn it!!

And the Halloween display The Captain drove me to see and photograph for you, is gone.

Christmas has taken it’s place.

Yes, you read that right.

The Captain drove by yesterday and couldn’t believe his eyes. Whoever lives in that house, over the weekend, took down all their Halloween and put up Christmas.

I’m gonna drive over there as soon as I possibly can and get pictures for you.

I’m off to vote, for the first time in my life. I’ve always felt that one vote (mine) wouldn’t make a difference. Thankfully, everyone doesn’t feel that way. So this year, my vote will be counted along with all the others. And maybe it WILL make a difference.

And if you’re thinking of not voting?

Think again.

Your vote does count!

 So, hop on the wagon, brave the crowds and VOTE!!!

See ya at the polls!

16 comments on “Join Me On The Bandwagon

  1. Yeah!! For you! Voting is something we should all do-and be thankful we have the right to do so! The first year or so I was old enough to vote-I didn’t. Just wasn’t concerned with what was going on enough to see past my little world. But soon realized every vote does count!

    They were playing Christmas music yesterday morning in Wally World. All the Halloween stuff is still there-marked down.

  2. Good for you, Becky. I didn’t vote until I was 30. I was too involved in myself to care about the rest of the country! But I did vote today and was proud to do it! And WOW! What long lines there were at the polls!

  3. Congratulation on your first time voting. What better time then now.

    Christmas display? Come on, I like to see Christmas displays about two weeks before Christmas. My sister always decorated the Friday after Thanksgiving, but even that is too early for me. Put the items up too early and you’re sick of them by Christmas. I think every home needs one room, just for Christmas. Keep it shut off the rest of the year. At Christmas open the door and turn on all the lights and decorations, after New Years eve, shut the door until next year. LOL I know, I know, I’m an old scrooge.

  4. I’m so proud of you for voting. I have been voting for 45 years. Not all the people I’ve voted for have been elected, some that I have voted for in the end I wish they hadn’t been elected, but even if it didn’t all turn out okay over these many years, I felt that my vote has always counted. Even if your candidate wasn’t elected, the politicos are always aware of how many votes they didn’t get, so maybe it helped in making them more aware of their responsibilities.

    So don’t think you or your vote don’t count. The important thing to remember is if you don’t vote you for sure don’t have a voice.

    You get an “Atta boy Girl!” from me today.

    Helen

  5. Yay Becky! You have now joined the ranks. I have to admit I didn’t vote until I was 25. My parents never voted and my mother at 71 still had never voted. We never discussed politics either in our household and if it weren’t for the farmer I might not have voted in my 20’s. But you can make a difference….one person at a time.

  6. Guess what? I’ve never voted either. Ever. Not even today. Know why? Because I’ve never gotten around to getting US Citizenship. Isn’t that nuts? Been qualified to do so for over 20 years, but just . . . haven’t done it. In my state, my candidate will win, so mine wouldn’t have been a swing vote. I might have been a bit more proactive had I thought it would make a difference. Maybe I’ll do it before the next go-round. It’s going to be interesting. I’ve been “edgy” all day.

    I love your bird-house gourds. You have inspired me to consider the possibility of looking into the feasibility of starting a gourd crop of my own. Next year. How fun!

  7. Well, first time for everything! What are gourds? Are they like a pumpkin inside? I know…..I’m dumb! I think it is way too early for the Christmas decorations to go out yet!! Don’t they have a job to go to?? They must just spend the whole year taking down and putting up the seasons decorations!

  8. Glad you voted! I also posted about voting today. There’s 5 in my family and we all voted today. My youngest son (19 yrs old) voted for the first time.

  9. I am PROUD of you! I don’t care who you voted for. No, I really don’t; only that you did – wonderful!

    Can hardly wait to see the Christmas decorations – well maybe not too soon. 🙂

  10. Love the gourds. I usually grow some but didn’t this year.
    Congrats on voting for the first time!!!
    Every vote counts and together we change our nation.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

