Cherry Place Farm Pumpkin Patch

Recently, Boo, The Captain and I went to a local pumpkin patch.

To Cherry Place Farms.

We needed a jack-o-lantern. And I would rather buy one from a local grower. I decided, instead of just buying a pumpkin, to pay the entrance fee and roam freely around the farm. I’m all about supporting our local people.

They have many critters…

sheep…

cows…

(for those of you who know my “cow” history…this is a show cow, very tame, inside a pen and The Captain was standing right beside me) For those of you who don’t and are curious, you can read about it here and here.

donkeys…

goats…

chickens.

We took a hayride around the farm, past the ponds and cows, to the pumpkin patch. The tractor was driven by their thirteen year old son. How cool is that?

We stopped to pick out some pumpkins. Boo picked out one for a jack-o-lantern. And I picked out a couple for pie making.

They had several activities for younger children like grinding corn…

 playing in the sawdust…

and adopting a little pumpkin, at the Punkin Hospital.

Boo has grown out of the little kid stuff, but he seemed to enjoy the hay ride.

And he had a lot of fun leading us through the corn maze.

He even climbed up on the observation tower to cheat a little.

I think my favorite part was following the chickens around trying to get a good picture. I enjoy listening to them clucking and watching them scratch at the ground.

They are active in the 4H with the cows, sheep and chickens.

And you know me…

I had to question her about it. It’s not something I’ve been involved with, but always had an interest in. She’s gonna send me some information. Who knows maybe I’ll see her at the county fair.

I bought some fresh eggs from them. I haven’t had a fresh egg in a long time.  I couldn’t wait to get up Sunday morning and fix breakfast! It was delicious, just ask The Captain and Boo!

We had a good time and they really made us and everyone else feel welcome.

I have already told everyone I know about it. They’ll probably be getting more visitors just because of my big mouth. tee hee!

They were even having a drawing for one of their humongous pumpkins.

This is their first year to have the Pumpkin Patch, and I believe it has been successful.

I’m already getting excited about next year!

P.S. Be sure to check in tomorrow, Team Fencepost needs some help from my teammates! I’m having a little issue.

10 comments on “Cherry Place Farm Pumpkin Patch

  1. What a neat place. For their first year they sure thought of everything. The different area’s for the little ones is perfect, and the pumpkin hospital – how cute. Wish I could have been there with you it looked like a lot of fun.

  2. What a fun time. Reading your post made me smile. My 11 year old drives the tractor (haven’t done the hay ride thing yet, but I’m sure in a couple of years he’d be good to go. Prince Farming just found out about a local farmer who’s getting rid of goats and donkeys. We already have cows and chickens. All we need to do is plant some pumpkins and we’d be good good to go! What a HUGE departure from my life’s vision! But it’s fun. And country. Have a wonderful weekend.

  3. Becky: Would you believe when I saw that cow, the only thing I could figure is it was trying to eat the camera. You got the picture as you were running away.
    There were some neat shots from the pumpkin patch.

  4. This looks like a wonderful time!
    You got some really great photos of the animals.

    I was in 4-H for about 10 years growing up. It has evolved a lot since then.
    Loved this post.

  5. I am keen to know what your issue is now!! I loved looking at all your photos…..I used to have chickens. I loved my “girls” with their fresh eggs and the little noises they made etc. Thanks for checking in on me!

  6. #1–I’m proud of you for getting that up-close cow picture, even if the cow WAS tame. With all your trauma, that was still a big deal.

    #2–Fresh eggs. I MISS them. I never had chickens, but growing up, our best friends did. Fresh eggs are so much better. But Prince Charming, a bonavide City Boy, things that eggs come from stores and are white, they do NOT come from chickens. He wouldn’t eat one. (There, I said something “bad” about him out loud!)

    #3-That is quite a pumpking patch for its first year of operation. It will probably do very well. The one we go to is an hour away, and has been going several years. They add stuff every year. I think it must be a goldmine.

    #4-I am always in favor of supporting the locals, and it’s usually less money anyway!

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

