Makes Me Smile, part XVIII

Tipper at Blind Pig and the Acorn had a post the other day about all her little acorns.

Meaning all her new friends she’s found through her Appalachian Heritage Blog.

And it got me to thinking…

If I were gonna give my readers a title, what would it be?

Then after all the reader participation in the Halloween Story 2008, I have learned how much the faithful readers, the bloggers and the random visitors mean to this and other blogs. Not that I didn’t know before, it just drove the point home.

We share, our triumphs, sadness, homes, surroundings, skies, critters and everything else, with eachother. It is a virtual support system aided by the World Wide Web. Sort of a team of volunteers supporting eachother.

At my home, we are a team.

Which is how The Captain came by his title. I am the Co-Captain. Together we work to make our home a pleasant and stable environment.

Which leads me to this…

Welcome to Team Fencepost! Not a new name, I’m still “Twisted”. Besides, I’m kinda partial to that name.  Just a new angle on this blog.

In the future, I will be looking for other reader participation posts.

Oh, don’t worry, I’ll still be telling you about the silly things that happen around here. Past, present and future. And you know I can’t help walking around the farm taking pictures of interesting things.

And you…

YOU, are my teammates. Together we work to support and encourage eachother.

Right now, my teammates are making me smile. ALOT!

While the Halloween story contributions were coming in, this post was floating around in my head.

My team.

Team Fencepost.

And I decided that since this is my favorite holiday, my birth month and I had so many team players generously humoring me contributing to  the Halloween story…

It’s time for a giveaway.

While you have been contributing to and catching up with the story, I have been working my little fingers to the bone.

I threw all your names into the witches cauldron. Stirred it with her broom.

I stole her ugly bent magic stick and held it to her head, then forced her to draw,

not one, but two names out of her cauldron.

Congratulations…

Klutzy Mama

and

Noble Pig.

I have a box of Halloween goodies for each of you. Contact me with your address and I’ll send them to you, just in time for Halloween.

As for the rest of you…

she still has your names. Cause she wrestled me to the ground and took back her magic stick. Two good deeds was more than her black heart could stand.

I believe I heard her mumble something about a flyby at midnight as she grabbed her cauldron, jumped on her broom and zoomed away.

Sorry!! I would have tried to catch her but my broom ran off with a traveling salesman.

Now… tell me…

 what is it that’s making you smile?

If you’d like to see what else makes me smile, click here.

P.S. From now on, when you see “Team Fencepost” in the post title…know that I am requesting the assistance of my teammates.

11 comments on “Makes Me Smile, part XVIII

  1. Becky: I do love your stories and the joing in was fun.

    What makes me smile?
    1. My wife
    2. My grand children
    3. My boat
    4. My internet friends
    5. My camera
    6. My dog Jake
    7. Nature and Water

  2. Becky this week-you make me smile 🙂

    Thank you for the shout out!!

    And if I could see you-I’d salute and say ready for the team coach! I love the Team Fencepost and am glad to be aboard!

  3. Oh me! Oh my! I’ve been gone all day and just got to sit down and catch up on my blog reading! Thank you so much for the goodies!!! It was so much fun reading the completed Halloween story.

    Making me smile today – winning stuff!!! 🙂

  4. Oh, there is so much that makes me smile – life is good.

    1. My kids. And having tah-tah stories to tell.
    2. My Latin students. Who appear to have finally had their light bulb moment.
    3. Blogs. there are some really talented people out there!

  5. Your post made me smile!
    As I read your words I thought of all the wonderful people in blogland who are a part of my life and how they enrich it every day. So many friends old and new.
    I love that you know my area and can relate and I also love the way you write throwing in your wit here and there and I’m proud to be part of Team Fencepost – thanks for having me!

  6. Team Fencepost – you come up with the best ideas. What is making me smile this week is that my sister is feeling better. So we spent the day together yesterday and planning an outing on Saturday. We are going to go to Kansas City and get some Christmas shopping done. I’m so glad she is feeling better this week.

  7. I can hardly wait to see what else you have up your sleeve!

    Today I’m smiling because it is Parent-Teacher Conferences, therefore no school. I still have to deal with the drive, but only once instead of twice, and Chic gets to be home today. That always makes me smile!

    Oh, and Prince Charming is going with us, so he will be home in the morning. What a day!

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

