Happy Birthday. To Me!

A year ago, I had heard of blogs. I really didn’t know what they were.

Blogs for weight loss, fitness, information…

I had no idea of the adversity of blogs out there.

Basically, the internet is where I went for information, pay bills and email. I could maneuver around a computer pretty well. I’m no expert at all.

I discovered a whole new world of blogs about 8 months ago. And with that a whole new world of friends. People who I have things in common with and people with life so different from mine, that I am fascinated with each and every post.

Some of them bring back cherished memories. And some of them have me exploring, or gathering information. Wanting to learn more about whatever subject was in their most recent post.

Just last week I learned that I had won surprise drawings on a couple of blogs I visit regularly.

 It was so exciting to find that I had won! I could hardly contain my sheltered country girl excitement. And it was a pleasant surprise when they found that October is my birth month.

Tipper has a monthly drawing of all the commentors on her site.

I was the September winner which is drawn after the month end.

I won a homemade spider and web, made by Granny, Tipper’s Mother.

Also included, were not one, but two homemade cards made by Tipper. One, a Halloween card, left blank, as a gift. And the second, was a card congratulating me on having won her monthly drawing and wishing me a Happy Birthday.

Thank you, Tipper! I will cherish them always.

When ya get a minute skip on over and visit Blind Pig and the Acorn, an Applachian blog, with music, memories and a few giggles!

My second win was at The Fishing Guy’s blog.

He had a random drawing, celebrating the 1 year anniversary of the beginning of his world of blogging.

He put together a picture of his cherished buckeye tree from his yard and a poem written by one his faithful readers that was dedicated to his tree and the Ohio Buckeyes football team. He put them in a frame, boxed them up and sent them to one lucky reader.

ME!

He also sent me a handfull of buckeyes, to plant here on the farm. I am hoping one day I will have a buckeye tree as majestic as the one in the picture.

Thank you, Fishing Guy! I must find a prominent place in my home to display your cherished tree and poem, so everyone can see and admire along with me, a gift that I hold close to my heart.

Stop in at The Fishing Guy and check out his beautiful photos. One’s he takes while fishing, relaxing by the lake or on his way to and from work.

And during this time, I was honored by Trainwreck with an award.

To translate the gift from Portuguese to English, it means:

 “This blog invests and believes, the proximity” (meaning, that blogging makes us ‘close’ -being close through proxy)

 “They all are charmed with the blogs, where in the majority of its aims are to show the marvels and to do friendship; there are persons who are not interested when we give them a prize, and then they help to cut these bows; do we want that they are cut, or that they propagate?
Then let’s try to give more attention to them! So with this prize we must deliver it to 8 bloggers that in turn must make the same thing and put this text.

I agree!

I have made many friends through this blog. People I would never had met, if only virtually, if it weren’t for the comradarie of blogging.

Trainwreck is one of them. She is silly and sweet and funny. And I’ll be a fan of her blog for a long time, I’m sure.

Thank you, Trainwreck!

She would love a visit from you, to show off her horses and maybe teach you a thing or two about the rodeo.

Each blog I visit puts a smile on my face in one way or another. 

I’m not one to follow the rules, cause that’s just how I roll.

Sorry, just had to add that.

If I regularly visit your blog, know that you are worthy of this prestigious award and you are welcome to pass it along. If not, just relish in the comfort that you have a faithful reader. Regardless of how “twisted” I am.

11 comments on “Happy Birthday. To Me!

  1. Well Happy Birthday and Congratulations on your winnings. I see from your post that we follow some of the same blogs (great minds work alike – he he). A Buckeye tree, that would be great to have.

    I hope you have a Wonderful Day.

  2. Oooo you’re one of those lucky people I’ve read about! It’s great that you won the spider web cause I see how you love to decorate for Halloween.
    I want to put together a Christmas contest this year. Along with a big prize maybe some zombies or screaming wee folks. LOL!

  3. Woohooo, Becky!! Happy Birthday Girlfriend!! You are one of those lucky people from the sound of things. Winning not one, but TWO prizes. I hope you have a super day today and that everyone absolutely caters to your every whim. Let me know if that wish for you works. At least you’ll know I tried, LOL

    Helen

  4. Yea for you!!! And a great big giant HAPPY BIRTHDAY from the mountains to you!!! I’m so glad you liked the web and the cards. And I’m even happier we met and become friends through this great big blog world!

    Thank you for he nice shout out!!

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

