Chiller

I mentioned to you that I am fascinated with horror flicks.

This all started when I was a child. Not sure exactly what age, under 10, I know.

My Dad and I would stay up late on Saturday nights to watch “Chiller”.

Chiller usually had two short horror movies. In no way comparable to today’s horror flicks. But to a child, they were just as scary.

I would beg Dad to stay up and watch the movies I would not watch by myself.

He would take a nap in the late afternoon so he could stay up with me.

And he always had to set the mood.

Lights off.

Bowl of popcorn.

A cold drink.

And a blanket.

I always had to sit on his lap while watching those scary movies.

One time I brought a flashlight. Just in case.

Dad found that quite amusing.

The movies starred actors like Boris Karloff and Vincent Price.

Vampires, mummies and Frankenstein were the main characters.

It didn’t cause me to have bad dreams, that I remember.

The only bad dream I remember having, as a child, was spawned from a show called, “Gilligan’s Island”.

Of all shows to cause me to have nightmares!

GILLIGAN'S ISLAND

I mean, how could Gilligan hurt anyone? Except himself?

It was the headhunters!

I dreamed head hunters were chasing me.

Now that’s terrifying!!!!

Today, I am still a fanatic with horror flicks.

My favorite being Thirteen Ghosts, Saw and numerous others.

I still love the classics, but horror movies have come a long way since “Chiller”!

Do you like horror flicks? And if so, what are your favorites?

Do you remember a movie causing you to have a nightmare?

 

10 comments on “Chiller

  1. I used to love them. Now I am a big wimp. I love suspense and such, but don’t care for the gory anymore.

    I remember as a kid that the Sammy Terry show always made me have nightmares. Does anybody remember Sammy Terry? Or was that just an Indiana thing, maybe?

  2. Becky: No nightmares but I also like scary movies. I really enjoyed ‘Cujo’, ‘Christine’ and ‘Pet Cemetery’. I think Steven King is the master of scare.

    We had Ghoulari (great name) showing the old scary movies. I thought he was funny.

  3. When I was little I would beg to watch a scary movie and then beg someone to sleep with me. I remember after watching the Exorcist-I threatened to sleep in the hallway unless someone slept with me-My Daddy finally gave in and slept with me.

    Now I know better-I don’t watch scary movies. But the Deer Hunter and the girls love them.

  4. I like them scary but not bloody. So things like 6th Sense and those kind are great. I hated the Exorcist (couldn’t even get through it) and the Halloween movies. So if I have to see the axe lop of the hand forget it. I will have to leave the room. I used to love the old Alfred Hitchcock Twilight Zone.

  5. My wife is absolutely nuts about murder mysteries and watches them all the time. I don’t see any of them as I like Nature things. The Discovery Channel is really nice. I also like the program called “48 Hours.” I can get into that one.

  6. I love scary movies myself. We used to watch “Creature Feature” when I was a kid every friday night. I remember seeing “Night of the Living Dead” scaring me. And I remember seeing “Chainsaw Massacre” at the drive-in and right in the middle of it someone started up a chainsaw….I think I peed my pants.
    When my kids were younger we used to have a marathon movie feature every Halloween, Like Friday the 13th, or Freddy Krueger….we play all the movies back to back and order pizza.

  7. No horror for me. I’ve seen one or two all the way through. “Silver Bullet?” Hated it. And it’s not so much that I have nightmares, but I take a long time to go to sleep, and my mind goes crazy in that time. And then I DO dream about anything I watch, so that doesn’t help, but it’s my dark, awake time that is the problem.

    If you invite me over for a movie, I have plans!

  8. Sammy Terry

    I remember him! Scared me all the time. Remember the one with the big Bed Doll, or how about the one with the creatures that lived under the fireplace?

    or the one where the creatures would stab you with big hat pins!

    I lived in Southern Indiana and we watched all the time.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

