Where Did I Put Those Keys?

Remember back in the spring, when I was going on and on about how much I adored spring?

And how I was enjoying so many spring things?

For instance, the daisies…

 

And the strawberries…

How my horses could smell the hay and were waiting for the first cutting.

 

And my garden. I tilled, fertilized and planted it.

Well, the daisies have bloomed and gone.

The strawberries are in the freezer, waiting to be made into something delicious.

They hay has been cut and put away for the winter.

Not sure if there will be a second cutting this year. The drought kept the hay from growing last year and there wasn’t a second cutting. If it doesn’t start raining here soon, there won’t be another cutting this year either.

All the hay from the first cutting is put up for the people who do the cutting, for their own farm use. So, finding hay to buy is not easy. Some people have it delivered by tractor/trailer loads from other states. Sad, but true.

And my garden…well…let’s just say…the weeds are coming along nicely.

I have not had time, this summer, to keep up with it. Shameful, I know!

Somebody smack me good once, will ya!

Would ya look at that mess!

I have had a few tomatoes. I had to dig through the weeds to find them, though.

I had one birdhouse gourd plant survive. If you ever decide to plant these, may I suggest, you plant them far apart. And make sure you have a large area for them to grow. Look at how this lone plant has vined out.

All across the “weed” garden. Out into the yard. Up a tree.

Look at what is growing in this tree.

Yep, that’s a birdhouse gourd, in case you’ve never seen one growing.

Since, I started back to work full-time, I’ve had a problem with organization.

I have never had this problem before. If somebody wanted something in my house, I could tell them exactly where to find it.

Now…

We turn the house upside down trying to find something.

Are my organizational skills slipping away with my youth?

Or, am I just too busy with life to care about where I put the keys to the shed?

7 comments on “Where Did I Put Those Keys?

  1. Weed gardens are hard. Depdening on your climate and soil, sometimes weeds are a battle that can’t be won unless you fight them every. single. day. No one has time for that. I used to live in a place like that, and I, for one, will not smack you about the weeds!

    I WILL recommend you make a garden journal so you remember about the gourds. I need to WRITE DOWN that my space will only fit two cucumber plants!

  2. Can totally relate. Everyone doesn’t seem to have enough time. I think we need to give Father Time a sleeping pill for a few months so that we can catch up.
    :))
    I’ve always counted on my calendar because as long as the work to be done is posted, it gets done. But that’s me and I’m not saying that there isn’t the constant juggling act and moving things around. Good luck! *laughing* Perhaps we all should send Mother Nature a Mother’s Day card. She’s been on a rampage! Hoping for rain for you!

  3. We had all this landscaping done a few months ago…and it’s all dying. The drought and water banning is not in sync with my yard. The grass is scorched. But, the weeds…they are doing just fine!

  4. Weeds are so resilient! I’ve never heard of the birdhouse gourd-but it looks neat even if it has taken over your yard and tree! I’m still hoping me and you both get some rain-like soon!! I’ve only noticed one person cutting their second hay here.

  5. Spring is the true beginning of the year in country life. We start out with hopes, plans, and a strong will. The end of the summer is like the end of the year when we take stock of what we have accomplished and gained and look nostalgically at those things completed. We also evaluate and judge what we have not accomplished or completed. Now is the time for “New Year’s Resolutions”.
    Love your blog.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

