Folly Beach in July

One of the thrills of going to Charleston, SC, is going to Folly Beach on James Island.

 

It’s my favorite beach. Not that my sheltered country girl self has been to many beaches. But this is my favorite so far. It’s where The Captain and I spent our honeymoon. So it has a special place in my heart.

We like to walk down Folly Road and check out all the little stores. Listen to the music of an open air bar.

 

Then, play in the water of the Atlantic Ocean.

I like to walk along the beach in search of the perfect seashell.

And in search of the perfect picture.

I like the feel of the sand between my toes, the wind blowing my hair and the ocean water lapping around my legs. It’s peaceful and serene.

It’s God’s beauty. And it reminds you who is in control.

This is what is left of a structure after hurricane Hugo blew through.

You can no longer build on this end of the island. And swimming is not allowed here due to strong currents.

I could sit on the beach for hours. Listening to the wind, the waves lapping, the birds singing and children playing. It’s when I am most at peace.

Where are you most at peace?

The beach, the mountains or another quiet retreat?

If you would like to read my other posts about Charleston, SC…click here.

8 comments on “Folly Beach in July

  1. That next-to-last picture is fabulously framed! Love it!

    Like you, the beach is where I am most at peace. However, I’ve never lived near it and in the course of my life haven’t spent that much time at it. But there is nothing better. I love a lot of outdoor things, but the beach will always be my favorite.

  2. Wonderful pictures. I love the beach, too. Since I grew up near the mountains and they were my childhood hideaway, the mountains will always have first place in my heart. Second place goes to the starry night sky, and next is the beach. All are amazing pieces of God’s creation, but I do have my favorites. 🙂

  3. I love the beach especially after a storm when so many nice shells have washed up. I don’t get to go often, but I think I could sit there for days.

    I’m a people watcher so that’s really fun on the beach. People are so un-inhibited and you see a little bit of everything.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

