Barefoot and Stranded in Charleston

In a previous post, I mentioned getting caught in a flood, in downtown Charleston, SC, last year.

I thought I’d tell you about it while it was on my mind.

There won’t be many pictures as I didn’t have my camera with me. I didn’t think it would be a good idea with the present situation.

Imagine, if you will, as I describe what happened when I was barefoot and stranded in Charleston.

We had been to the Coastal Carolina Flea Market in Mount Pleasant, SC. It was hot, and there was a storm brewing.

The Captain didn’t find a t-shirt he liked at the flea market. He had seen one earlier in the week at The Market in downtown Charleston, but decided to wait until we went to the flea market. Maybe, he would find one he liked better.

He didn’t.

We decided to make a trip to The Market to pick up his t-shirt.

With the storm brewing,

I,

like an idiot,

decided it would be best if they dropped me off at the building with the t-shirts, circle the block, and hopefully I would have bought the t-shirt and be on the street waiting for them to pick me up.

Well, before we got downtown, the storm caught up with us and we were driving in a torrential downpour.

They dropped me off at the end of the t-shirt building. Remember, there are 5 buildings and I am going to the third or fourth one. I ran inside, looking like a drowned rat. Found the t-shirt he wanted, paid for it, in a matter of minutes.

The lady, feeling sorry for the drowned rat, gave me a discount.

I decided to walk to the beginning of the building. Since, it didn’t take long and I figured it would take them longer to drive around, considering all the traffic.

The streets were crowded. And the buildings were crowded, especially after the rain started.

I called The Captain on the cell. This is how the conversation went…

Me: Where are you?

The Captain: Driving around the block.

Me: Well, are you near the building you dropped me off at?

The Captain: No. I don’t know where we are. The streets are flooded and they’ve got them blocked off. Where are you?

Me: I’m at the beginning of the building you dropped me off at. It’s flooded between the buildings. The water is atleast a 6 inches deep. I’m going back to the end of the building, maybe it’s not so bad there.

The Captain: Okay. Talk to Dad I’m trying to drive in this God forsaken rain and traffic.

I walked back to the end of the building. Guess what I found?

It was flooded.

But now it was about knee deep. I stood, just inside, and waited for my hero to rescue me.

While waiting, I had time to observe what was going on around me.

I had the phone to my ear and I was laughing my head off. Not only because of the situation, but the people were hilarious.

High stepping through the flooded streets, trying not to get wet. (DUH)

Holding hands, as if they would be washed away. (Double DUH)

I decided to take off my shoes and socks and carry them, since I didn’t have another pair back at the camper.

Still on the phone…

Me: (still laughing) You should see these people! They act like they’ve never seen rain before.

Where are you now?

FIL: We are at the beginning of the buildings coming down the same side we dropped you off at.

Me: Okay, I’m gonna start walking up the street toward you. Tell MIL, I need a towel.

Barefoot, I waded across the street, so I would be on the right side to get into the vehicle.

By this time, I was soaked to the bone. It got funnier as it went.

Picture this…

I am in Charleston, SC, soaked to the bone, barefoot, with no ride and people were running around acting as if the wicked witch and her flying monkeys were swarming.

On the phone…

Me: Where are you?

FIL: At the beginning of the building we dropped you off at.

Me: I don’t see you.

FIL: That’s because there’s a horse and buggy in front of us.

Me: Oh. Okay, now I see you. I’m walking toward you.

FIL: Where? I don’t see you.

Me: See the red conversion van? I’m coming in between it and a car. I’ll stay here and wait.

FIL: Okay, now I see you.

By now I’m dripping wet and laughing hysterically. The whole situation was just FUNNY!

Nobody else was laughing.

Just me.

I guess you had to be barefoot and standing in the pouring rain waiting for your hero to rescue you to “GET IT”.

Later, I asked The Captain how much he loved me. He said, “Lots”!

 “Enough to get out in a flood and buy me a t-shirt?”, I asked.

 “Even enough to get out in a flood and buy you a t-shirt!” he answered.

I tell you, that man really loves me!

This is a view I took, this year, of a road between the buildings. You can see the slant of the walkway leading into the building. The water was standing at the top of the walkways, close to pouring over into the building itself.

If you ever go to Charleston and there’s a storm brewing, stay away from The Market and downtown. It floods the streets and the alleys and it doesn’t drain off until the rain stops.

Unless, you want to have a little fun, get wet, run barefoot down the street and wait for a knight in shining armour to come to your rescue. Then by all means, if your in Charleston, and a storm is brewing, head for downtown.

Oh, and take a waterproof camera. You’ll want pictures!

I sure wished I had mine!

If you would like to read my other posts about Charleston, SC…click here.

5 comments on “Barefoot and Stranded in Charleston

  1. Dang those flying monkeys. I thought that we finally had them under control. I guess I won’t be going to Charelston anytime soon.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

