A Walk Downtown, Charleston

Let’s go for a walk around downtown Charleston. Some of these pictures were taken while driving through and some were taken while walking.

This is one of many shops that are on either side of The Market.

First, let me say, there are several ways to get around in Charleston.

By trolley. (bus)

A carriage ride. Which, really, is a tour.

By personal vehicle, moped or bicycle.

By a pedi-cab. How would like to have this guys job?

Or on foot.

Remember the 9 firefighters who died when the furniture store roof collapsed on them?

Here is where the store once stood. Notice the crosses in the foreground. Dedications to the fallen firefighters.

Here is a memorial, located in downtown Charleston, dedicated to the 9 firefighters who lost their lives, doing their job.

There was more than one musician sitting along the sidewalks and parks. Playing their music with cases open, hoping for a donation. I’ve seen this on television before, but this is the first time I’ve seen it in real life.

This gentleman caught me taking his picture as we drove by. He smiled for me as he played his fiddle (or violin, depending on where you come from).

Some of the buildings here are old, as you can tell from the brickwork.

In case you can’t read this, it reads, “Charleston Iron Works, Charleston, SC, 1907”.

An alley in downtown. There are many similar looking alleys.

That’s the end of our stroll along the streets of downtown Charleston.

I hope you enjoyed it!

If you would like to read my other posts on Charleston, SC…click here.

5 comments on “A Walk Downtown, Charleston

  1. I like to walk around Charleston in the winter. I simply melt in the summer. My fave coastal town is Beaufort. Again, I love the coast in the winter because I am a big ole’ wimp when it comes to the heat .
    Okay, didn’t mean to whine…Hope you had a great time!

  2. Definitely enjoyed it!

    Where I come from (not where I live) a fiddle or violin is determined by what type of music it plays.

    And I would love the pedi-cab driver’s job. Surely I would be skinny then, right?

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

