What Makes Me Smile, part IX

Fingernails.

Fingernails make me smile.

Let me explain.

At some point in my childhood I started biting my fingernails.

It continued into my late 20’s.

I don’t remember exactly when I started biting them. My Mother blamed it on a relative.

She said my brother went to visit a relative over the summer and came back biting his nails. Which in turn started me, biting mine.

I can’t imagine what my adolescent mind was thinking.

“Hmmm, those look pretty good, I think I’ll eat them.”

Or

“If he can do it, so can I.”

Exactly what is it that causes a person to start biting their nails?

Some say it’s a nervous habit.

I’m not sure, but I tried everything to get myself to stop.

Fake nails. They kept falling off. That was before the fancy nail salons.

Cinnamon. Kept getting it in my eyes. Let me tell you, that burns.

Vanilla. I liked the taste.

Band-aids. That got in the way.

I tried polishing them, I though if they looked all colorful and pretty, maybe I wouldn’t bite them.

Not!

That just brought attention to my ugly, bitten off, fingernails.

And any other thing someone suggested.

To no avail.

I endured all the lectures about how dirty the under part of your nails are. And how if you swallow a nail it can lodge to the lining of your stomach and cause an ulcer.

For a long time it wasn’t a big deal. I played guitar and anyone who plays guitar knows that long nails and chording a guitar don’t mix. I don’t know how Dolly Parton plays with those nails of hers. It would have to sound all buzzy and flat.

How I longed to have those long painted beautiful nails, like everyone else.

In my late 20’s I went through a bitter divorce. Biting my nails the whole time.

Then one day, after my divorce, I looked at my hands and realized I actually had fingernails and not stubs. I quit biting them without effort.

Makes me wonder if my nails had been trying to tell me something all along.

Oh, I could go and get a manicure and have those acrylic nails put on at a fancy nail salon. But I refuse to pay for something I can grow myself.

I’m not so vain that I have to have perfectly manicured nails. If I had some special event going on that I had to get all gussied up for and my nails were all different lengths. I guess I could go and have them professionally done. But so far, I haven’t attended an event that warranted me paying for that extravagant expense.

Maybe it sounds a little strange to you, but fingernails make me smile!

And what’s more important, it makes The Captain smile. It ‘s one of the first things he noticed about me.

After all, he needs someone to scratch his back.

It’s okay if you think I’m strange.

 I’m happy with my fingernails.

Okay, it’s your turn.

What makes you smile this week?

 It’s okay if it’s a little strange.

 I don’t mind.

Oh, and the pictures, I thought I’d give you something a little more interesting than just my nails.

8 comments on “What Makes Me Smile, part IX

  1. Those are your real nails? Wow, they are beautiful, I could never grow mine so beautifully. In the winemaking profession long nails don’t work but I get a pedicure every two weeks, rain or shine.

  2. Early morning fog has been making me smile this week. It’s so pretty the way it lifts and just kind of wisps away.
    I have paper thin fingernails that don’t grow no matter what. Your’s are very pretty and they should make you smile.
    I found my way here through Tipper’s site and really enjoyed my “visit” with you!

  3. Nailbiting is a genetic flaw in my family. My mother did it as a child, my brothers and I did it as children, my son does it to this day, and his son also.

    I quit biting mine in my early twenties. They grow, but aren’t strong and break quite easily. But when they are long, I really like them.

    My house being clean and neat makes me smile. I haven’t been smiling much lately. Guess, instead of reading blogs, I should be cleaning.

    But this Arkansas gir doesn’t care. Reading blogs is more fun.

  4. Noblepig: Yes, they are real. I have been trying to get pics of my nails for 2 weeks, couldn’t get stopped long enough to take the pics. I was scared I would break one before I got the pic. Which is usually the case. Normally, they don’t get this long, cause I break one. Now that I’ve gotten the pic, I will probably start breaking them one by one.

    Paula: My nails used to be paper thin. I could bend them backwards and they wouldn’t break. My daughter has the same problem. I wish I had time to sit back and enjoy early morning fog. It can really make for some interesting shapes and pics.
    Thanks for visiting, hope you come back!

    Shirley: My family keeps me so busy, I pick up as I run through the house on my way to another task. Wish I could give it a good cleaning. But then they would just mess it up for me again. I guess I’ll agree with you and not care. Some day I’ll have nothing to do and my house will be clean. And I’ll be wishing my family were keeping me busy again.

  5. What made me smile? Well, N made me smile alot this week. She won her first photo award! She is my 17 year old daughter. Then along came your post. I smiled, well actually laughed. That is so neat. No, I don’t think you are weird. Like the Captain, I love it when my wife scratches my back. She is the best in the world.

  6. Your nails are lovely! Growing up my best friend bit her nails and like you everyone offered her something to quit or told her how disgusting it was all to no avail. But as an adult and a Mom she finally quit!

    This week the old and the young clogging together makes me smile.

  7. You are lucky about the nails. And isn’t it funny how you quit biting them without trying? Just the timing. My nails are thin and weak and take forever to grow. Just when I think they might be long enough to paint (and are of even length), one will tear. No, not break, but tear.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

