Something to Remember Me By-A Giveaway! Times Up!

Times up! I’ve really enjoyed reading your comments! I’ll post the winner Friday morning!

 

 

When my children were small, I didn’t work, so I had a lot of time on my hands.

I decided to try my hand at crocheting. So, I bought some yarn and a book and taught myself to crochet.

Then my mother took an interest in it.

 I had to show her how.

I can learn from a book. She had to have someone teach her. She just couldn’t get her hands to do what the book told her to. I know a lot of people who learn easier, by doing.

The books teach for right-handed people. I am right-handed. She was left-handed. I had to learn to crochet left-handed so I could teach her.

I’m flexible that way.

It has become a lifelong hobby for me.

While I like to work with yarn, she preferred crochet thread.

I like projects I could work on and see results quickly. Working with crochet thread took too long to show results.

Which is why I don’t knit. I tried it.

It takes too long.

Mom passed away a couple of years ago, and I am thankful that I taught her to crochet. I have many of her finished and unfinished projects. I seem a little closer to her holding something she made.

I have made things for my children. The most recent being Christmas tree skirts. And I hope one day they will feel a little closer to me holding something I made specifically for them.

Even if it’s only at Christmas time.

The skirts took a long time to make and I was glad when they were finished. I told them to take care of them cause there would not be another.

It took too long.

I have made my share of afghans. I prefer smaller projects. Which is why I started making these oven mitts.

They are made with 100% cotton yarn.

I, also, make hot pads to match, which could be used as potholders, too.

My family loves these. It’s the only ones we use. I have some of those store bought oven mitts. They’re just for back up. Just in case the homemade ones need to be washed. Eventually, I’ll make another set for myself and get rid of the store bought ones.

Everytime I make a new set, I end up giving them to someone who is in desperate need of a good oven mitt.

If you have stuck with me through all of this rambling, you are in luck!

I am giving away a set of these beautiful matching oven mitts in these fun summer colors.

Are you in desperate need of a new set of oven mitts? Do your other ones have thin spots? You know, the ones that cause you to drop something or get burnt, or both.

 All you have to do is add a comment below telling me something you have made with your own two little hands.

If you don’t have something you made, that’s okay, too. Just make a comment about how much you love these oven mitts.

Just joking! 

Just leave a comment and you are entered.

 There are no wrong answers.

As a bonus, if you mention my giveaway on your blog I will add your name in the drawing one more time and if you link back to me, I will add your name one more time. Which will give you a total of 3 chances to win your very own, handmade, set of matching oven mitts.

The contest starts now and ends Thursday, July 10, 2008. At 9:00pm Eastern Standard Time.

The winner will be randomly selected. I will put all your names in a hat or a basket or a dirty sock, whatever…

 I will post the winner Friday, July 11, 2008.

 Can’t wait to hear what it is that you make!

Goodluck! TFP

 

17 comments on “Something to Remember Me By-A Giveaway! Times Up!

  1. I am generally not a crafty person, but I did make some cute magnets of the children for my fridge once by using their photos, popsicle sticks that my daughter decorated, and glue. It was a fun, rainy day project with my 6 yr old. I also have some things my mother did for me (crochet) and have stored them away because she can no longer crochet due to arthritis. She made wonderful afghans for my son when he was a baby. And yes, those mitts are very pretty! Please enter me and thank you for the giveaway~

  2. Oh, those oven mitts are beautiful! I really like the hot pad too . . . so pretty. I crochet also but have never been able to teach my mom (I learned from a book too). I have tried teaching my daughter a few times but I don’t think she really has the interest. I’ve crocheted two baby bearghans that I’m especially proud of. My grandma left me some thread and an unfinished tablecloth when she passed 4 years ago. I have done some doilies and smaller thread projects but I’m not sure I’m up to finishing a tablecloth. Maybe I’ll get motivated to give it a try someday.

  3. I made a scarf once 🙂 Those oven mitts are so cute- believe it or not I don’t even own oven mitts, just hot pads, so I would love to win these!!!

  4. Becky- I just love them-they are so pretty! And I just happen to need oven mits bad-so I hope I win!

    I paint folkart angles and I make greeting cards! And I will post about your contest tomorrow!!

    You are talented-Granny would be jealous of your mits!

  5. I am the uncraftiest person on the planet. But I did learn to crochet once. I was pregnant at the time…and started a blanket. But then I had a baby…and then it was too hot to have a blanket on me…and then I forgot how to do it. And then I think I gave my half creation to good will. The end.

    I’m always in need of oven mitts. 🙂

  6. I once knitted a mitt but wasn’t happy with it’s shape. And it just so happened I caught a potholder on fire recently when trying to do two things at one time. A new oven mitt would be sweet.

  7. Well, I made a lot of things in my life. I guess, the thing that I appreciate the most was when I was 12. My mom was fussing to herself about not having anywhere to put the laundrey detergent. So the next day while she was at work, I made her two shelves above the washing machine. When she got home she went to the room to start some clothes and started screaming. I ran in and she grabbed me and gave me the bigest hug. Now that was the best payment I ever got. She still uses them today and brags to anyone who will listen.

  8. Pingback: contests 7-10-08 « no time mom

  9. Love these!! I truly wish I could have this ability – well, I’m sure I COULD. For some reason, my sewing machine never gets used, and I find myself instead just digging in the dirt with the kids or helping them catch frogs…it’s all good.

    But I would love to win these – I have exactly ONE oven mitt in my entire house, and I don’t even know where it is at the moment. 🙂

  10. Heavenly days I just got through talking about my mama on Blind Pig and the Acorn (and getting teary) and here you are with crocheted potholders and oven mitts. I just told my husband yesterday that the potholders Mama made me are getting thin and there won’t be more – she’s been gone 4 years now. So I sure hope my name gets in your dirty sock, or whatever. Since it’s Thursday already I won’t get to link you. Guess I’ll have to take my chances with my name only going in once. I make quilts, which Mama did too, and I can crochet but haven’t done that in years. Quilts take up all my time! Thanks! Blessings, marlene

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

