Boats, Bikinis and a Hero

A couple of summers ago, we spent a long weekend at Lake Wateree State Park, in Lake Wateree, South Carolina.

Our plans were to…

 grill, eat, boat, tube, fish, bike, take the boat a little further down the lake to watch the fire works show on July 4th and just plain relax.

Everything was going as planned. We spent most of the time on/in the water just trying to stay cool. It was extremely hot and no breeze to speak of.

On the afternoon of the 4th we took the boat out to pull the kids around on the tube, and any adult who might have wanted to get a little wet.

After about a half hour on the boat, the boat quit. Just cut off. For no apparent reason. And it wouldn’t restart. The guys decided to let it sit awhile and try again.

Did I mention it was hot?

Everyone on the boat, except me, decided to jump in the lake. All eight of them.

We have a big boat. It’s a Suntracker Party Barge Pontoon boat. Holds 15 people.

Anyway, after about an hour of bobbing around in the lake, the guys decided to try starting the boat again.

Still wouldn’t start. They tried several repairs. Still no luck.

Shouting distance away there was a little yellow jet boat that had been floating around near a dock. They trolled over, and asked if we needed some help. After a short discussion, they decided to tow us back to the campground.

 

It didn’t take long to decide that it was too far for the little boat to tow the big boat. Just so happens there was a boat slip coming up.

I don’t know who’s decision this was, but the guys decided that we should anchor the boat near the slip and one of the guys would get into the jet boat and ride to the campground, get the truck and drive to the boat slip. Where we could load the boat on the boat trailer and drive back to the campground. So as not to put too much strain on the little jet boat by towing the big boat.

Again, I don’t know who decided that The Captain should be the one who rode on the jet boat. But he was the one who had to endure the ride to the campground on the little yellow jet boat, while leaving the other eight behind to wait.

Did I mention that on that little yellow jet boat was three college age, bikini clad, girls? And a college age boy?

Did I mention that The Captain was the one who boarded the little yellow jet boat?

Did I mention that I had to stay behind on the big boat?

A sad feeling came over me as I watched my husband ride out of sight on the little yellow piece of junk jet boat with the three, half naked, tramps nice young girls.

It seemed like hours going by as I and the other seven on the boat waited.

While waiting, I had to endure comments like, “He’s been gone a long time, hasn’t he?” and “I wonder what’s taking him so long?” and “I didn’t think the campground was THAT far!” All of the questions directed at me.

When he finally arrived with the truck and trailer, I have to admit, I was more than a little perturbed! I hid it well, my main concern was to get the four whiney brats children back to the campground where they could do something other than complain about how hungry and hot they were.

At the boat slip where we were anchored, they also had gas pumps at the docks for the boats in the water. There was gas in the water and I wasn’t about to let anyone get off the boat into that nasty water. Not to mention the boat traffic coming and going.

It was then that I decided that no one would leave the boat, for any reason. If we are broke down. We’ll stay broke down until someone finds “US” and tows “US” back. And if no one finds us, we will die on that boat! Never again will I watch my husband ride off into the sunset with three bikini clad tramps girls!

The Captain saved the day!

My HERO!

Next time, The Captain stays with the boat!

 

5 comments on “Boats, Bikinis and a Hero

  1. When you were talking about being stranded on the boat that wouldn’t, I kept hearing Gilligan’s theme in my head.

    Hopefully, the guys got the pontoon going and saved the day.

    At lunch today, I met a truck pulling a homemade pontoon. It was a hoot.

  2. In stumbling across the guy with his tongue out somehow I was able to guess which region of the country the guy was from. Was your guess Hawaii? California?

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

