Stop And Listen

While riding around locally or while visiting an unfamiliar place. I always take notice of the trees. I love them, especially the older ones.

Big, beautiful, majestic, trees.

 If only they could tell the story of their life. The children playing, the happiness or sadness they’ve witnessed. The wars they may have witnessed or maybe they took a bullet to save the life of a scared soldier hiding behind.

The young love they may have seen when a couple carved their initials in their bark. Like a tatoo to them, a testiment in time to the love that was once in their presence.

This tree is outside my back door.

This time of year it is alive. Not only with bloom. If you stop and listen, you can hear the buzzing sound of all the flying critters that depend on this and other trees for sustenance. It sounds as if the tree itself is alive. The sound of the buzzing reminds one that all is right with the world. No matter what happens, life goes on.

This tree grows near my home.

Not only are the trees on our farm beautiful, some of them supply fruit or nuts. Not only for humans but for the many critters who frequently visit us here on the farm.

Pecan and black walnut.

Persimmon.

Those trees were planted here on the farm by mother nature herself. We also have a few we have planted ourself. My brother-in-law planted a couple of apple trees.

And peach. These were given to me and planted in memory of my parents who passed away in 2006.

They have beautiful spring blooms.

Dogwood blooms signal the beginning of spring. It just wouldn’t be the same without them.

I found this tree last year in Charleston, South Carolina. On Johns Island. You can read about it here.

No picture could do it justice. If you ever get the chance, go see this tree. It’s beauty and majesty are amazing.

I wonder what stories it could tell?

3 comments on “Stop And Listen

  1. Becky-Super post! I love trees-especially the old ones. I never see a big Oak that I don’t think “wonder what that tree has seen” because it takes so long for them to grow. Out of all the trees around my house I like the Black Walnut ones the best. I love how they look in the winter-strong, sturdy, and black against the landscape. The last tree you showed was amazing! I’d love to go see that one.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

