Hummingbird Nectar Recipe

How many of you love hummingbirds as much as I?

I like to watch them buzzing around my front porch.

Feeding from my feeders.

And buzzing around again to let me know the feeder is empty.

For those of you who don’t know the recipe for hummingbird nectar, I have posted it here for you.

 Hummingbird Nectar

1 cup boiling water

1/4 cup sugar

Completely dissolve sugar in boiling water. Let cool.

Do not use food coloring in nectar. They say it’s bad for the hummers.

Store unused portions in refrigerator.

UPDATE:

Zoe Hinds at abouthummingbirds.com has added some very important information about hummingbirds, please see the comments for the helpful information.

Thank you, Zoe!

4 comments on “Hummingbird Nectar Recipe

  1. I love how humming birds come back looking for the feeders in the spring. My girls like the ‘red-necked” hummingbirds. Their 5th grade teacher liked to hear about the rednecked birds so much he said he was going to write a song. He thought that was so funny.

  2. It is important that, especially in very hot wheather, you change your nectar solution every three days or so. Otherwise, your nectar solution may spoil and that will likely drive the hummingbirds away. If that happens, it can be very hard to get the hummingbirds to trust your food souce once again.

    If you would like much more information about hummingbirds, please click the links below. The sites contain many articles about hummingbirds, video clips about hummingbirds, an informative tips booklet on hummingbirds, and much more.

    Click Here To Visit About Hummingbirds

    Hummingbirds For Mom

  3. I never knew you could lose the trust of hummingbirds. I’ll have to remember to change the nectar regularly when I get a feeder. Speaking of which, are there any feeders you guys recommend? I’ve found a Magnolia Top Fill hummingbird feeder by Perky-Pet so far. I like it because they fill from the top and look really easy to deal with. Here’s the feeder I’m referring to:
    http://www.birdfeeders.com/store/hummingbird-feeders/120tf

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

