I’ve Been Invaded!

I love spring!

But I don’t like some of the things that come with it.

Ants, in particular!

They are driving me crazy!

All it takes is one little scout to find a crumb and he brings in the whole $!*#% family.

Not just ants. Red, biting, little annoying pests.

In WV, where I’m from, we had ants, army ants, piss ants and sugar ants. But not red ants. Not biting ants. They won’t go away.

Every year we battle. For the last 3 years!

They are determined to take up residence in my home.

They come in and take over my kitchen. They eat my food. They don’t leave a tip. And they get mad and bite if I say anything. Like its theirs to have.

No matter how much I clean. They keep coming.

I spray. They just find another place to come in.

I suck them up in the vacuum cleaner.

They come in everywhere. The kitchen. The laundry room. The bathroom. Our closets.

Places where there is no food or water.

I’ve had to remove everything from closets. I put the clothes in the dryer to rid them of their new found creepy crawlers. I put the other things outside in the heat of the sun to make them go away. Then I spray the closet. Then they’re gone. Until, they find another place to explore.

They are gonna drive me to drinking!

 I hate bugs of any kind. Especially in my house.

I don’t go outside and invade their homes. Why do they think they must invade mine?

You’d think they’d take a hint. But, oh no!

I have walked around the outside of my house sprinkling ant killer, seven dust and everything else that someone has suggested. Nothing helps.

Everyday, I am vacuuming up dead ant piles and battling a new batallion. They lose a million of their army to my vacuum cleaner, they regroup and come back meaner than ever.

They are everywhere outside. I can’t walk outside without getting bit. I can’t clean my pool without getting bit. I sprinkle the stuff that’s supposed to get rid of them. I water it down. Following the directions to the tee. They just move to another spot in the yard.

It’s a curse, I tell you!

Does anyone have any suggestions?

How do I get these #!%& ants outta my house? And outta my yard!

Help!!!

Before they carry me away!

8 comments on “I’ve Been Invaded!

  1. I TOTALLY understand. I live in Soutwest MO and it has rained quite a bit lately… so of course the little pests have to find higher ground… which is my entire house! They are literally crawling everywhere. They are like mutant ants too. NOTHING gets rid of them. I spray, I bait, I sit and wait… but NOTHING. I think I am going crazy! Its good to know I’m not the only one! Haha

  2. Thanks for coming by! As for the ants…I can’t believe with all you’ve done that they’re still invading with no let up! Horrible. It sounds like a nightmare. We have anthills all over our property, too, those big red nasty biting ones. No solutions.

  3. I’ve gotta say that everyone I have talked to this year has had trouble with ants! The honey bee population is crashing and the ant population is multiplying exponentially! I heard someone suggest sprinkling Borax. I don’t know if it works, but they swore by it!

  4. I’ve heard that corn meal, white or yellow, is a good thing to put down where you see ants. They think it’s good eats, and carry it back to their nests where it is consumed, but they can’t digest it and it kills them. Couldn’t hurt and it’s non-toxic. Might work in your closets, etc.

    In the house, particularly in the kitchen, I’ve found Lysol Antibacterial Kitchen Spray is a great ant-killer. Just curls them up. I’ve been known to pour half of a bottle of the stuff down a troublesome ant hill. Poof! No more ants from that hill. I don’t know what it is about it that seems to work (keep in mind, it is not sold for this purpose), but it does.

  5. Thanks for all your tips! I’ll keep trying them until I find something that works. And I’ll get back to you on the ant invasion progress.
    Becky

  6. I don’t remember the name of the stuff-but you put it out and they all come to it and eat it and take it back with them to where ever they live. I’ve tried it before and it worked-you just have to tolerate them swarming around the stuff until they finally leave and never return.

  7. I want to know how the ant got in my microwave above the stove! No I did not cook them. I had already sprayed them before that thought hit me.

    The were not in my cabniets and that wall backs up to the garage. No ants in the garage either.

    I am going to cook the next batch if they come back and see what happens.

  8. Man! That’s a serious ant problem! We have ants too, but the thing I hate worse than ants are camel crickets! They live in our basement and they stalk me at night!

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

