What Makes Me Smile, Part III

Singing.

Singing at the top of my lungs.

In the house. In the car. In the back yard. Just singing. I love to sing.

Music has been a big part of my life. So, learning to sing was inevitible.

My Mother and Grandmother sang in the church choir. My brother had stacks of 45’s and 33’s. My Dad played guitar. And taught me. My Great Uncle played guitar and sang to me everytime we visited. My Grandfather played harmonica.  My oldest son learned to play guitar but had to give it up due to an injury to his left hand, which left him unable to chord the guitar. Which is sad, he had learned to play lead and was good at it. He could play just about anything. Unlike me, I don’t have the concentration it takes to play lead. He has recently taken up the drums. Which was his first love anyway.

My kids and I would ride in the car singing Christmas carols or would replace the lyrics to classic songs with sillyness. We had so much fun thinking of ways to make a song silly. And it didn’t cost a dime. That’s quality time.

Sitting around the kitchen, on the back porch or around a campfire singing. Those are some of my favorite memories. I’ve made good friends just by singing. I always knew every song they played and could accompany them.

I sing karoke every chance I get. And everyone joins in with me.

No, I don’t go to bars to sing. I don’t need an audience or pats on the back. I just sing cause I like to.

I have my own karoke machine that hooks up to the T.V. and surround sound system that The Captain just had to have. Little did he know I would take it over and he would have to listen to me do my best Reba McIntyre impersonation. (Ha) I don’t even come close to Reba, but I love her songs and it’s fun to try. I can carry a tune pretty well. My friends and family say I’m pretty good. I don’t agree. It doesn’t matter. As long as I can carry a tune and am not embarassing myself, I will sing till the cows come home. I don’t trust them. They would tell me that to ensure that I keep frying chicken to feed their always empty bellies.

Sometimes we have bonfires here on the farm. 

 

And if we’re in the mood, we’ll bring out a table, a small T.V. and an extension cord. And hook up the karoke machine. Talk about Redneck ways. The first time I brought the machine out, I didn’t hook it up to a T.V. You should have seen us with flashlights trying to see the words on the little printed  CD jacket. When I did hook everything up outside, they told me I was insane. Gave me the “There she goes again” looks. But it didn’t stop them from singing along. I guess they decided if you can’t beat HER, join HER. And that’s just what they did. If only for one song. There’s atleast one song that everyone will sing. Like maybe Sweet Home Alabama.

I hope the people who live shouting distance away, don’t mind listening to the midnight serenades. Heck, most of them are present and singing along.

I can play guitar, but not well enough to accompany all the different types of music we sing. We may sing gospel, country, southern rock, bluegrass or top 40. Everyone brings along their own karoke CD’s and we have quite a variety. If we don’t know the song we’ll either listen or pretend. Which can be quite comical at times. But we always have fun. And that’s what matters. Putting a smile on everyone’s face!

Your turn!

What’s making you smile this week?

 

3 comments on “What Makes Me Smile, Part III

  1. I’m sure you are a great singer-I wish I could sing-all my family’s talent skipped me and went to my girls. My husband makes up words to songs too. He and the girls think its hilarious it just drives me batty.

    What makes me smile this week-all the blueberries on my bushes. Last year because of the late frost I had 2 blueberries. This year they are full and I can’t wait!

  2. I love to sing. In the car, in the shower, in the laundry mat. Yes I sing in the laundry mat. I have often found myself singing along with a song and making up the words. Have you found yourself doing that? Does anyone remember that reality show where they had a camera in your vehicle watching you sing songs all wrong? I found something that will help you out. Songs from bands like 3 Doors Down and Beyonce you can check the lyrics before you make an idiot of yourself by going to http://www.kiisfm.com/cc-common/lyrics/top100/ . A courteous note from one shower singer to the next.

  3. Watermelons watermelons watermelons! hee hee.
    Oh well the Tie the kids to the back of the car and there’s a bathroom on the right! Just a few of the made up lyrics we have. If you know it (or not) sing along!

    I need a bucket to carry my tune by in the car by myself I am Whitney Houston! Hee hee!

    Smiling all this week because we had Family fun weekend .WE went to the airshow, bowling and movies! We really had a blast and I enjoyed watching the boys(Hubby, and the 2 kids) marvel at the air planes.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

