Clouds

Yesterday evening, I decided I wasn’t in the mood to cook dinner. Which is something that has become the norm since I went back to work full-time. It has taken a backburner to the other things in life. Like BLOGGING!

Anyway, we decided to go to town for dinner.

We had some pretty powerful storms move through the area throughout the day yesterday. Luckily, we were spared any damage. It seems the storms got worse as they moved across and upward into Virginia.

By the way if your from there, I’m praying for you!

But yesterday evening the storm left behind some very unusual cloud formations. I have never seen clouds like this. Puffy, low, some black and some white. I made The Captain pull over or slow down or change lanes so I could get some pictures. I was just waiting for a funnel to come down and suck us up into those black puffy clouds, never to be seen or heard from again.

Take a look at some of those unusual clouds…all of these pictures are straight out of the camera as I do not have PhotoShop. Yet!

 

They looked as if they were so heavy they would either burst or fall down around us.

Now that I’ve scared the CRAP out of you.

Calm down.

We only saw a few rain drops while driving through all those clouds. They were mammoth sized raindrops, but few and far between.

Really, they were beautiful clouds. Unusual. But Beautiful.

Honestly, I expected a heinously vicious storm to come down on us like the mighty hand of God bringing forth judgement.

I cannot remember ever seeing clouds that utterly intimidating. I imagine the people living in the midwest may be used to this type of cloud formations.

I am not!

And believe me, I WAS utterly intimidated!

Not enough to stop taking pictures though. I was thinking to myself, if this storm is gonna get me, I’m gonna get a picture to prove exactly what it was that sucked me up into the wild blue yonder.

After all, since I wasn’t able to prove there was a dead chicken in the road. I feel a need to substantiate my credibility.

My friend texted me yesterday asking, “When exactly, did we move to Kansas?”

I texted back saying, “We didn’t, it came to us!”

Imagine how ominous I could have made those clouds look if I had PhotoShop.

7 comments on “Clouds

  1. Very scary clouds. I haven’t ever seen any like that either. Thankfully the mountains seem to be good at breaking up the storms before they reach us.

  2. Cool pics! You dont need Photo Stop. I am glad Captain was driving so you could take the pics and not get run over. lol

  3. That is a developing cumulonimbus clouds. (pic 1) There are some very interesting airflow’s around these fairly common clouds, which can lead to dramatic and scary looking pictures.

    Cb’s ,as they are also known, are associated with heavy rain, thunderstorms and in the case of big ones, hail too. If they develop a rotational element, this can lead to tornado’s.

  4. Tipper: That’s one thing I miss about living in WV.

    Tiffany: If I had PhotoShop I could have had you shaking in your seat and afraid to go outside.

  5. Steven: The way the clouds were moving was making me uncomfortable. They looked as if they could start swirling at any moment. And your comment confirmed my thoughts. Thank you.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

