Houseplants and Egg Shells

As you know, I love growing things.

Even in the throws of winter I always have things growing.

I don’t remember exactly when I developed this love of growing things. My mother and her mother always had house plants.  Maybe that’s where it began.

I thought I’d share the area behind my kitchen sink with you. The sink is placed in a corner, which gives me space behind it to put plants. It also has a window that lets in plenty of daytime light.

Here’s a breakdown of the things that are presently growing there and a couple you can’t see in the above picture.

Remember the ornamental peppers I wrote about earlier?

Here’s the red one, still growing.

And the orange one.

It’s looking a little rough. I may lose one of them, but the other one is still hanging in there pretty well.

This amaryllis has been with me for a very long time and I think it has seen it’s better days.

I just recently moved it behind the sink so I can watch it more closely.

I usually move plants that are not doing well behind the sink so I can give them a little extra attention.

For instance, these peace lillies. They weren’t doing well where I had them, so I repotted them and moved them to the kitchen sink area along with the amaryllis.

They still have a ways to go, but they are doing much better with the extra attention.

This Christmas cactus almost died, so I cut a start off of it and put it in water to get roots then repotted it. It’s doing well so far.

I restart new plants quite often, almost always having start in water sitting in the kitchen window. Like this golden pothos.

This is one that is not shown in the first picture. Once the plant gets too long, I cut off the long vines, put them in water and wait for them to get roots, then plant in a pretty pot.

The original plant is as old as my oldest child, it was given to me as my first Mother’s Day present. The start in the picture above will be given to one of my granddaughters.

The next picture is of the chives I started in late summer.

Some of them are dying out. I think I’ll sprinkle a few seeds around the already growing chives and see how they grow.

And the last picture is one that is not shown in the first picture. It hangs over the others in the same window.

It is a spider plant given to me by a dear friend. It was a start from her matured spider plant.

Behind the kitchen sink has proven to be a good spot for it because it bloomed recently for the first time since I’ve had it.

If you’re wondering what the white stuff is around the plants, it’s crushed egg shells. I remember my paternal grandmother putting crushed egg shells around her plants but never knew why. Until now.

The egg shells are a great source of calcium for the plants. You can put the crushed shells in the bottom of a pot before potting a plant or sprinkle them on top of the soil around the plant.

Also, the water from boiling eggs is also a great source of calcium for plants. Just let the water cool and use it to water your plants.

I’ve also found out that you can use the shells in the garden to add calcium and to sprinkle the broken shells around the plant stems to keep slithering critters, like slugs or cut worms, from damaging young plants.

I have been saving egg shells  and will use them around the tomato plants. Hopefully, this will stop the blossom end rot that is caused by lack of calcium. I seem to have a problem with this each year.

Do you use egg shells in your house plants or garden?

12 comments on “Houseplants and Egg Shells

  1. Yes I put them on my house plants, however I will be using them in the garden this year if I can remember to keep them out of the trash!

  2. I did not know that! The fact that you have that plant that was from your first Mother’s Day and will pass a cutting along you your grand-daughter makes me happy. What a wonderful gift!

    • Keep trying with the house plants.Putting plants in bigger pots seems to help them.Clay pots might work better also.I am going to start using egg shell in with the plants.My parents always had one or two house plants.My grandmother had house plants also.Five plants for every one person living in a house keeps the in door air clean and healthy.

  3. Your plants do look great. I do use egg shells, coffee grounds I learned that from my grandfather. He always kept a can by the sink for both so he could put it in his yard garden. He had beautiful veggies! I sometimes share the egg shells with the birds too, very healthy for the young ones.

  4. I have a few house plants, but I am unlike my mother who had many. She loved house plants and they usually did well for her. I am bad about not watering them and I don’t really have a lot of room for them, either. When my mom was alive she always watered my flowers each week when she came out to visit. My mother in law was also great with plants, she could, and did, grow just about anything. I love spider plants, I used to have a huge one.

  5. Yes I DO use the eggshells as compost in my garden. I think I may have to blog about that this week. I save all the compost for the first couple of months after the growing season, then scatter that on top of the raised beds then we cover it up..
    Great post!

  6. Love your house plants! I used to have some-but let them go somewhere along the way. Neat that you have a window for them-that was my problem not enough light.

    I’m saving egg shells for my maters too : )

  7. Yep, it really works for tomatos. I had blossom end rot for three years running until I stumbled on the info. The first year I used it, I think I wasted some eggshells tho. I have to grow in pots to get them in sunny spots, and put the shells on way before I even had blossoms. I’m sure it was good for the plants, but now I start adding some as top dressing once the blossoms are fully open. That seems to do it. I even have friends saving eggshells!

  8. I’ve been using egg shells for my plants for years. I was once an avid composter but there are too many “critters” here in Montana to have an open compost and I don’t like using the sealed containers.Reading your blog reminded me of all of the houseplants I left behind when I moved to SW Montana. There was a Christmas cactus that was grown from a piece my Grandmother gave me from her’s years and years ago. I haven’t asked my son if any of my plants are still living — no reason to get upset with him for something I could no longer tend, right?
    Thanks for the good read. You made me want to dig in the dirt.

Be a part of the discussion, leave a comment!

